Image of Lizzy VanUtrecht

Lizzy Van Utrecht, EBF senior, has been selected as the recipient of the E Wayne Cooley Scholarship earning a $15,000 scholarship.  She will be recognized at halftime of the Class 3A girls basketball championship game on Friday night - approx. 8:30pm. 

Iowa Public Television will provide coverage of the championship games

Live Stream -

The E. Wayne Cooley Scholarship Award is a scholarship established in tribute to the man most responsible for making the “Iowa Girl” number one in the nation. The profile of the recipient should reflect discipline, perseverance, character, superior athletic skill, leadership, academic achievement and citizenship traits that have personified the life and expectation of the late Dr. E. Wayne Cooley.

Financial awards are given to six finalists.  The E. Wayne Cooley Scholarship Award winner will receive a $15,000 scholarship ($3,750 annually). All nominees will receive a plaque commemorating their nomination by their school. The recipients must be enrolled full-time in an IGHSAU-member Iowa high school as a senior and be an Iowa resident. The recipient shall use the scholarship to pay expenses billed by the Iowa college/university of her choice.

Congratulations, Lizzy!